British Airways Executive Club Returns To Regular Tier Point Qualification Levels From January 1, 2023


British Airways Executive Club has emailed members that the qualification hurdles in order to qualify for BAEC tier status will revert back to the original levels starting January 1, 2023.

For now and during the past two years BAEC has lowered the qualification requirement for obtaining or requalifying for status as part of their pandemic relief policies.

It was pretty clear that this would stop at some points and according to today’s email we’re getting closer to that date which is going to be January 1st.

The email reads:

Dear Sebastian,

Thank you for being a Member of our Executive Club. Your loyalty means the world to us.

Over the last few years, we introduced some temporary changes to the Executive Club to ensure that we continued to recognise your loyalty, even when you couldn’t take to the skies. This included extending tier memberships and reducing the number of Tier Points you needed to upgrade your tier status.

As we welcome more and more of our customers back on board, we’ll be re-introducing our standard Tier Point thresholds at the end of this year.

Our tier thresholds will be updated on 1 January 2023

  • If you’ve already renewed or upgraded your tier status, you will continue to enjoy the benefits of your current tier until your card expiry date, which is shown on your digital membership card in the British Airways app and on
  • You can continue to benefit from the current 25% reduction on tier thresholds until 31 December 2022.
  • From 1 January 2023, you will need to meet our full Tier Point thresholds to renew or upgrade your tier status.

We hope you continue to enjoy being part of the Executive Club and look forward to welcoming you on board again soon.

Best wishes,The Executive Club Team

With this, there are now roughly two months left in order to re/qualify for tier status under reduced requirements before it resets to the original amounts from January 1st.

As a reminder, the current (reduced) qualification levels are:

  • Bronze: 225 Tier Points or 18 eligible flights;
  • Silver: 450 Tier Points or 37 eligible flights;
  • Gold: 1125 Tier Points

This will revert to the original requirements:

  • Bronze: 300 Tier Points;
  • Silver: 600 Tier Points;
  • Gold: 1500 Tier Points.

If you want to compare the different membership tiers with BAEC, you can do so on this website.

It was really easy to qualify and/or retain the status during the last few years. For one, British Airways was very generous with the extensions of BAEC tiers. For example, I’m still BA Gold until February 2023 and haven’t credited sufficient points to the program in years.

We have covered the individual extensions here on LoyaltyLobby. The free extensions then ran out, followed by the reduced qualifications. From 2023 BA now wants members to obtain their status by regular flying activity once more. Fair enough!


Members of the British Airways Executive Club have another nine weeks (until December 31, 2022) to qualify or requalify for status under reduced requirements that are 25% below the usual amounts. Starting January 1st, the original limits per program Terms & Conditions will once more apply.

All members should have received a communication from BAEC through email, informing them of the details. This concluded a period of almost three years where British Airways has shown goodwill to BAEC members, extending their status and later offering qualification at reduced limits.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.