Russia Bans 36 Countries Using Its Airspace


Russia reciprocated what EU countries and many others implemented over the weekend (read more here and here) and banned airlines from 36 countries from using its airspace immediately.

The Russian overflight rights are important for airlines that fly between Europe and Asia, as this is the most logical route. As a result, many European airlines have already announced flight cancellations for routes impacted by this ban (it was widely anticipated). Routes affected are especially those to North Asia (Japan, Korea & China).

Countries Affected:

  • Austria
  • Albania
  • Anguilla (British Overseas Territory)
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • British Virgin Islands
  • United Kingdom
  • Hungary
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Denmark (including Greenland, the Faroe Islands and the territorial sea)
  • Jersey
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Canada
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Sweden
  • Estonia

Announcement by Russia:

Download (PDF, 97KB)


Let’s hope that calmer heads take over in Kremlin, and this attack by Russia against a sovereign country ends. Unfortunately, it is usually the innocent that suffers (Russian and Ukrainian citizens).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.